Plant-Based Diet defined

Millennials and Plant-based Lifestyle
April 7, 2017
Literature Review
April 26, 2017

What is a  Plant-Based diet and the variations?

A plant-based diet is a diet based on foods derived from plants, including vegetables, whole grains, legumes and fruits, but with few or no animal products.

The use of the phrase has evolved over time. Plant-based diet is used to  refer to vegan diets, which does not contain food from animal sources at all.

 

Below are FOUR Common types of Plant-based diet in details:

  1. Vegan:
  • Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products.
  • Vegans do not use honey or beeswax, gelatin and any other animal by-product ingredients or products.
  • Vegans do not use animal products such as silk, leather and wool, as well.
  1. Lacto Vegetarian:
  • Lacto-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or eggs.
  • However, lacto-vegetarians do consume dairy products such as cheese, milk and yogurt.
  1. Ovo Vegetarian:
  • Ovo-vegetarians do not eat red or white meat, fish, fowl or dairy products.
  • However, ovo-vegetarians do consume egg products.
  1. Lacto-ovo vegetarian:
  • Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not consume red meat, white meat, fish or fowl.
  • However, lacto-ovo vegetarians do consume dairy products and egg products.
  • This is the most common type of vegetarian.

In addition to these types, considerable variation may exist in the extent to which animal products are avoided. Many “Self-Define’ themselves as vegetarians as long as they add a lot of vegetables and fruits in their diet. They are not necessarily a total plant-based lifestyle practioners.

 

References:

http://www.andjrnl.org/article/S0002-8223%2803%2900294-3/fulltext

http://www.vegetarian-nation.com/resources/common-questions/types-levels-vegetarian/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plant-based_diet

Comments are closed.